Hopemongering For Year 5

jonny walker teaching

Nousheen WorkNo teacher is madly keen about going ‘on record’ to declare that they wish to bring misery into pupils lives. Today, I did. In the unit we put together on Global Citizenship for my Year 5 Class, I have very self-consciously wanted to bring the realities of the modern world to the children. What I have found so far is something powerful.

Hopemongering. It is a term I have taken from the writings of Herbert Kohl and it is central to my teaching of ‘the big questions’. To be a Hopemonger as a teacher is to ensure that even in the darkest of times, you indicate the potential for things to get better. Part of me thinks that children should be protected from the woe of the world –  the seemingly immovable forces that as adults we have come to see as unalterable reminders of the grimness of existence –…

View original post 924 more words

Leave a Reply

